Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Saturday, September 30, 2023

An air zone is defined as a geographic region within the province of Saskatchewan that shares similar air quality characteristics and challenges. Air zone boundaries are established by considering features such as topography, meteorology, economic activities, pollution sources and common air quality issues.

Air zones are managed by a non-profit Board of Directors comprised of public, industry, government and non-government members. These stakeholders work together to identify, monitor and communicate regional air quality information to help address local air quality issues and aid in developing solutions. Air quality monitoring is conducted through an independent contractor.

Saskatchewan has three active air zones: Great Plains Air Zone, the most recent air zone, was established in 2014, and encompasses the Moose Jaw, Regina and Yorkton region; Southeast Saskatchewan Airshed Association, the provinces first air management zone was incorporated in 2005 and; Western Yellowhead Air Management Zone was incorporated in 2012 monitoring and providing air quality information for the Saskatoon, Lloydminster region.

Plans are underway to establish air zones throughout the entire province. This will meet the requirements of the Canada-wide Air Quality Management System implementation schedule, which was approved by the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) on October 11, 2012. Air zone management provides flexibility to consider regional differences while ensuring national consistency, managing issues associated with trans-boundary influences and providing a level playing field for industry.

© 2023 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.